I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 127

Introduced by:

L. F. Kasperbauer

Ray Tenorio

Mike Cruz

F. B. Aguon, Jr.

J. M.S. Brown

B. J.F. Cruz

Mark Forbes

R. Klitzkie

L. A. Leon Guerrero

J. A. Lujan

A. B. Palacios

R. J. Respicio

Ray Tenorio

A. R. Unpingco

J. T. Won Pat

Relative to congratulating the Guam Association of School Counselors, the local Chapter of the American School Counseling Association, on the occasion of its joint effort with the national organization its counterparts across the nation, to celebrate School Guidance Counselors Week.

- 1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I
- 2 MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

1 WHEREAS, the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, Governor of Guam, has

2 signed Proclamation No. 2005-012, proclaiming the second week in February

each year as "Guam School Counseling Week"; and

3

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

counselors; and

WHEREAS, in observance of Guam School Counseling Week, the key activity is the annual Guidance Counseling Conference to be held from February 06 – 11, 2006, when the Guam Association of School Counselors ("GASC") provides logistical support to the conference in cooperation with the Guam Public School System ("GPSS") Curriculum and Instruction, and the University of Guam's Professional Development and Lifelong Learning Center, to provide Professional Development Services to the GPSS guidance

WHEREAS, the GASC, as a local chapter of the American School Counselors Association ("ASCA"), was established to ensure that excellence is provided in the island's school counseling program; and

WHEREAS, the GASC endeavors to provide professional development opportunities, research and to foster a spirit of collaboration, accountability and excellence in the profession; and

1 WHEREAS, GASC's affiliation with ASCA enables the chapter to seek

2 support and representation at the national level via government relations

programs and activities consistent with a continual effort to improve the

4 quality of our island's school guidance counseling practices; and

WHEREAS, school guidance counselors have many duties and responsibilities related to designing and implementing a comprehensive school counseling program; and

WHEREAS, school guidance counselors are essential partners in school performance and are of great benefit to students, teachers, parents and the island community; and

WHEREAS, the GASC joins the ASCA in celebrating with its national counterparts the role of guidance counselors in schools, represented in this conference by Dr. Judy Bowers, Ed.D., a national and international consultant to school districts and state departments in developing school counseling programs across the nation, Director of School Counseling Programs from the Tucson Unified School District; current president of the ASCA, co-author of the ASCA National Model as a framework for school counseling programs and companion; and

WHEREAS, Diana Johnston, a co-trainer, born and raised on Guam, taught at Guam schools before she became an elementary school counselor at Ford Elementary School for the Tucson Unified School District in Arizona, and is nationally recognized for her Comprehensive Competency-Based Guidance program incorporating "Bully Proofing Your School Program"; and the RAMP (Recognized ASCA Model Program) awardee for 2005, a national award given annually to outstanding contributions of guidance counselors in schools; and

WHEREAS, the GASC officers and board members have attempted to integrate the ASCA national model of school counseling into a GPSS District Plan and to start a Comprehensive Competency-Based Guidance program in every GPSS school based on national standards;

WHEREAS, the Guam Association of School Counselors officers include: Josephine Caluag, Ph.D., President; John Van Ausdall, Executive Vice President; Estela Lear, Secretary; Leonila Bernardo, Treasurer; Ruth Kruckenberg, Assistant Treasurer; Board Members, Maude Van Ausdall, Ruth Kruckenberg, Doreen Pereda, Robert Foley, Jovy Young, Elisabeth Rosario-Ichihara; and the standing committees of GASC include Membership Chair, Leah Duenas; By-Laws Chair, John Van Ausdall; Publication and Research Chair, Wenonah Abrenica-Mendoza; Fellowship Chair, Merlinda Cruz; Ways

and Means Chair, Jovy Young; Professional Program Development Chairs, 1

Robert Foley and Michelle Blend; Awards Chair, Elisabeth Rosario-Ichihara; 2

and Mentoring Chair, Robert Foley; now, therefore, be it

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people of Guam, congratulates the Guam Public School System on its vision and leadership and further commends the collaborative system to help students acquire skills in the personal, social, educational, and career domains necessary for living in a multi-cultural society, the sponsoring units, GPSS Division of Curriculum and Instruction, the University of Guam's Professional Development and Lifelong Learning Center, and the GASC officers and standing committee members, and the men and women who have made school guidance counseling their profession; and be it further RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Josephine

Caluag, Ph.D., President GASC; to Mr. Juan P. Flores, Superintendent of the Guam Public School System; to each member school of GASC; to Judy Bowers, Ed.D., President of the American School Counseling Association; to Guam Public School System Division of Curriculum and Instruction; to the University of Guam Professional Development and Lifelong Learning Center; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINABENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE $8^{\rm TH}$ DAY OF FEBRUARY 2005.

MARK FORBES

Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

ÉDWARD J.B. CALVO

Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature